Recent advances in medicine have resulted in an increase in life expectancy over the past four years. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

since medical treatments have progressed, many people expect to live longer than before. Although there may be some positive consequences of this trend, I believe it is more harmful. Due to advances in medicine, more diseases are curable today, which allows us to spend more time with our families, and have our parents around as it is significant for a child. For example, many children in the past may have lost their parents to disease outbreaks, and they would have been left alone to survive. in addition, we can also follow our dreams for a while longer, achieve more accomplishments, and enjoy our time by travelling around the world and by trying new hobbies as well. However, a rise in life expectancy rates has some negative impacts on society. the main issue is that, as the population gets older, more people of retirement age will obviously be eligible to receive a pension, and governments would therefore receive less money in taxes. In other words, young working adults should take more responsibility for tax payments. Moreover, young adults would be under pressure of taking care of their elderly relatives and pay for their needs as well. these responsibilities make them too busy that they do not tend to have their own spouse and children. For instance, in Iran, as the proportion of working people is becoming smaller, the birth rate is decreasing. In conclusion, developments related to medicines have resulted in higher life expectancy. While it has positive effects on individuals, I believe that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits.