Some people believe that car-free days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are other ways that are more effective. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that living without a car can decrease air pollution effectively, while some may state that there are different methods that can reach the goal of reducing air pollution in a more effective way. In my opinion, it is more helpful to fix on others means rather than car-free days in order to improve the air condition. First and foremost, I believe that the pollution made by industries occupy most of the proportion of air pollution. The factories' emissions somehow rapid the speed of the greenhouse effect, eventually decreasing the air condition. Moreover, the quantity of factory emissions is far more than the exhaust gas emitted by automobiles. With a view to creating better air quality, it is crucially important for the government to launch the emission regulation. A good case in point is that Taichung, which is known as the biggest national industrial park, has been reported as the city with the most worse air pollution in our country. Compared with other cities in Taiwan, Taichung shows worse air quality every year due to the rapid increasing factories development. Therefore, the local government started to launch the regulation on factories emission, which somehow directly slowed down the speed of air pollution, improving the living quality. On the other hand, some may endorse that a car-free day is a more helpful and effective way to improve the air quality by simply changing their daily transportation habit. For example, there are many countries setting a car-free day with the aim of increasing public awareness of the greenhouse effect. Private automobiles are banned on that day, which forced people to choose to take public transportation or walk. This kind of campaign not only decreased the exhaust gas generated by automobiles but also appealing people to take more public transportation rather than private automobile. In conclusion, I am convinced that there are other methods instead of car-free day that can solve air pollution more effectively. This is because of the fact that regulating industrial emission, which is the main factor of air pollution, can decrease air pollution more directly and effectively.