In spite of advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Beyond the shadow of a doubt, the more technological development and advancement in every people’s life aspect are made, the less the level of life’s difficulty will be; notwithstanding, remarkable advancements in agriculture do not result in welfare for every individual around the world, and some of them are still hungry. I contemplate that the aforementioned issue has some reasons and can be improved by some measures that I am going to describe in the following paragraphs. Regarding the possible causes, it should be considered that most of the agricultural developments and new methods are invented and used only by industrialized and developed countries, while the rates of starvation and famine are enormous in poor and underdeveloped countries where the governments do not have enough money for purchasing new technologies. Moreover, using new devices for crop harvesting or better seeds for cultivation tempts the officials to export their products and raise money rather than distributing them among their nations for a lower price. For example, Iran is a third-world country and as far as I know, a decade ago new genetically modified date seeds were imported to one of its provinces, Khuzestan. Khuzestan had acceptable date quality and production rate, and native settlers used to consume the local cultivated date. However, the aforementioned new seeds resulted in better and more abundant yields, and instead of distributing these yields among people and decreasing the price of this product, the authorities exported these high-quality products instantly. Therefore, native dwellers and farmers are deprived of that abundant source of food. To solve the problem the governments’ attitude must be changed, and they are supposed to give priority to their own people; such vicissitudes in officials’ insight will result in better nations’ welfare. Additionally, new inventions and advancements regarding agricultural devices and methods should not be a monopoly for technalized penalized countries now that poor territories need them more for easily feeding their population. In case this happens, the number of hungry population is going to diminish in the near future. For instance, some years ago the United Nation forced the United States to provide an African territory with a new genetically modified grain seed which could grow easily in arduous climate situations for free. The aforementioned deed paved the way for that African nation to lower its number of hungry individuals conspicuously. To sum up, concerning the simultaneous progression in both agricultural technologies and the amount of hunger among individuals, I described some of its causes and elucidated some practical measures for improving the situation.