Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governemnts to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Recycling is an efficient way to reduce the general pollution on the Earth. Unfortunately, some people do not take seriously the problem of garbage and keep gether everything in one trash bin. Hence state authorities started to induce citizens to recycle through different fees and laws. First of all, separate garbage collection has to be supported with recycling stations and clear instructions on how to use them. For instance, in,Germany you have to sign the document that you have been instructed about waste management rules of the building. In other words, you know the schedule of the garbage truck and the locations of all bins in your backyard. Every town has at least one recycling station and on the city, website you can find plenty of information about how you can organize your waste separation routine at home. In this,case government can reach the goal by applying the law, because citizens are given all the needed information and resources to enforce it. Secondly, demanding should be balanced with encouraging. For example, the local authorities in tiny Switzerland towns introduced the year recycling competition in which any village or city can take part. During the whole,year people collect the rubbish and special commission track average amount per person. At the eco-festival they announce the tow-winner and give the present to the all citizens, it can be dicount for public transport or a new football field. Thirdly, legal requirements need to be communicated and well-explained to avoid cases when people flaunt them accidentally. A good strategy is to involve environmental NGOs in this process and use their social media and other communication platforms. To sum up, laws might be an effective way to improve the situation with domestic garbage recycling, but the government need to think ahead about how to support them with a system of rewards, recycling stations proper and dissemination.