In many workplaces, online communication is becoming more commonplace than face-to-face meetings. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is becoming more usual for companies to communicate online rather than in traditional ways. While I accept that there may be some negative consequences, I believe that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, there may be some disadvantages to online communication in workplaces. To begin with, employees may not have the opportunity to interact directly with their boss and they would be restricted to the written form of communication or voice or video chats. Also, they would not be able to discuss with their colleagues straight after work the issues that they face during work hours. For example, in the UK, people can usually participate in friendly meetings over coffee after work. Moreover, the internet connection in different areas may not be as strong as it should be and it can cause time wasting. Therefore, the lack of in-person group meetings may cause negative consequences. On the other hand, technological advances have led more businesses to hire employers from different countries and expand their market. The workers from other cities or even nations do not need to be involved physically during company meetings. In addition, many of them may have the opportunity to work from their homes, which may result in traffic reduction as well as saving gas or plane ticket money. Furthermore, talented people from developing countries could apply for these kinds of jobs in developed countries and earn a large amount of money and boost their professional skills. for instance, many software developers who live in India have been hired by US IT companies in recent years. In conclusion, due to advances in digital technology, more working places are becoming familiar with internet-based jobs. While there have been some negative impacts of this trend, I think that it is more beneficial.