It is very clear that English should be the primary foreign language taught in all schools around the world. Learning a different language before English is, in today’s world, a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

English is obviously one of the most widespread languages on Earth. Despite that fact, I completely disagree with the idea, that English should be seen as the only option for a primary foreign language. English is undoubtedly important, after all it still has a leading position in science, education, and business, nevertheless, we should warn ourselves from a blind belief, that English language will have maintained this high status forever. Had it not been connected to the strong economic basis, Chinese language would have never been taken seriously as a competitor to English. However, nowadays Chinese is the most widely spoken language in the world, and its popularity is constantly enhancing. Therefore, for modern youngsters English knowledge is simply not enough. Chinese may be a better variant for being the first foreign accent, not only because of its frequency but also thanks to its difficulty. For children from continents other than Asia learning the Chinese language might be pretty challenging. An idea of the majority of Asian languages is based on drawing sufficient images of objects with remarkable features, not signs - the letters, which are generally used like instruments with no personal meanings inside. Hard though the Chinese language seems, it is easier to absorb complex rules as necessities and habits in childhood. To summarize, to my mind, it is essential for parents to reckon about the future perspectives of their offspring. Accordingly, the economic situation in the modern world dictates us to choose between two mainly spread languages and it is easier to memorize difficult things in childhood though.