Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is true that some minority languages are facing the danger of extinction in the near future. While some assert that spending money and resources to save such languages is merely an act of waste, I believe these cultural assets should be well protected and preserved. On one hand, I can understand why preserving these waning languages can be deemed a waste of money. To make sure the project works, many expenditures can be anticipated, including the fee for hiring scholars and launching research. For many people, with only limited budgets, the importance of cultural preservation might pale in comparison with other government subjects, such as health care and unemployment subsidies. In this light, the intention of preserving minority languages is liable to be viewed as an unnecessary action. However, from my perspective, there is a reason why governments should save those dying languages. One main fact is that language is not merely a way to communicate with others. Each language contains the unique wisdom and traditions that derive from a living culture; thus, once they are lost, the whole culture will vanish along with them and it can be a great loss for the whole world. Therefore, it is pivotal for authorities to take action to prevent these words from withering away. Take Taiwan for example. Taiwan's government has devoted itself for years to promoting and preserving the aboriginal languages, and the outcome is prominent, now, many descendants of those aboriginal people have earned a chance to realize their own cultures. In conclusion, it may save money in the short term if we allow minority languages to disappear, but in the long term this would have an extremely negative impact on our cultural heritage.