Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extend do you agree?

Nowadays, it is argued by many that minor criminalists ought to do voluntary work for the community rather than being sentenced to jail. I agree with the statement since it is beneficial for both individuals and our society. To begin with, doing voluntary work help prisoners socialize and gain soft skills. Especially juveniles can improve their time management and communication skills, which are fundamental for their careers by interacting with various people. This would make it easier for them to work and adapt to the community after their sentence. For instance, in European countries, the tendency to commit a crime was significantly lower in those who did voluntary work than in those sentenced to jail. Furthermore, by allowing prisoners to work in a community, the government can save a noticeable amount of money and raise a fund that can be used for various fields. To illustrate, in the USA, more than a million dollars was raised by allowing prisoners in a particular area, mostly spent on high schools to teach students about the prevention and negative consequences of crimes. The rest were allocated to several charities. To sum up, it is often thought that offenders need to do voluntary social work instead of going to jail. I believe it will give various opportunities for crime committers to build better careers and prevent them from recommitting the crime. Moreover, with the help of voluntary offenders, the government can save a considerable amount of money and raise a fund to increase awareness of crimes.