Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals supporting the idea of nurturing more professionals in science and technology field, whereas others argue that students ought to choose a subject that they are interested in. In this essay, I will discuss both scenarios and address my opinion. First and all, notwithstanding the fact that science and technology play a pivotal role in society in our times, we should not ignore the interests of the students in universities. In essence, interest-driven students are proven to acquire better academic results. For instance, research conducted by the University of Hong Kong demonstrated that more than 90% of students had outstanding performance in the subject that they were fond of. On the contrary, approximately 80% of these students obtained much lower marks in those subjects they hated. Often enough, it is widely acknowledged that every student has his/her own talents, and they will achieve their goals if they are allowed to follow their hearts. On the other hand, it is axiomatic that innovative professionals from the science and technology fields have made substantial contributions to the world. For example, a new invention called "The Red Robot", which was presented by an Australian scientist Joseph Dorward in 2009, has greatly improved the living quality of disabled people. In this manner, his product also brings new hope to global citizens who are unable to walk. From this perspective, technological advancement in science might prolong humans' lives by producing new medicines and new machines. To summarise, it is worthwhile to treasure the contribution made by scientists because they aim at boosting our living standards. Meanwhile, we should not turn a blind eye to adolescents' interests because excellent people from different aspects are equally important to the world. From my point of view, students ' interests should prevail in this sense.