In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is hard to deny the importance of hard work. This is why some cultures teach children that hard work is the key to success in achieving whatever they want. This approach has both advantages and disadvantages. The most important advantage of it is that children will learn to act on their dreams and have hope to achieve them one day. Telling children that they can achieve their goals by trying hard is considered beneficial for them for many reasons. First, this helps them practice hard-working from a young age. Therefore, even if they won’t be able to achieve them, they can aim for better goals and work to get them. Teaching them to try hard for what they want makes them believe they are capable of doing great things and this hope will keep them from giving up when dealing with difficulties along the way. If this habit becomes ingrained in them, they are more likely to actually get what they want and become successful adults in the future. This also makes them learn to be more patient. As a consequence, they will realize that success cannot be achieved over one night and they need to work for it for a long time. On the other hand, giving kids this massage can have some disadvantages too. If children hear this massage from everyone and conclude that they can dream for anything, they might set unrealistic goals for themselves. This way, even if they work day and night, they may not be able to believe in themselves and their potential talents. As a consequence, they will be discouraged to try for gaining important things in life. In conclusion, there are many advantages to telling children they can achieve anything but, there are also some disadvantages of they are not thought how to aim and try properly.