The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree?

The death penalty violates the right to life which happens to be the most basic of all human rights, however some people still believe that capital punishment is extremely useful for reducing serious crime, while others think that it is not, however, both points of view are worthy of discussion. On the one hand, the death penalty is partly useful for reducing heinous crimes since it will prevent some crimes to occur. Take China for example, where the death penalty is still working, and the crime rate is lower than in other countries without it. The fact is that people know that committing a certain heinous crime will receive a determinate punishment, so if the latter is severe enough people will avoid it. On the other hand, this kind of punishment is not wholly effective, as when the murderer is committing a crime, his brain is completely overcome with emotion and cannot think about the consequences. Take a case as an example, one person knows that he can’t kill anyone since he will be charged with the death penalty, but when he is fighting with the next enemy he will lose his mind and an extreme result outcome would be a heinous crime such as murder. In conclusion, personally, I think that capital punishment is partly effective to reduce serious crimes rate due to the above’s reasons, but it is also too cruel for felons since it doesn’t give them the opportunity to learn from their mistakes. As an alternative, life imprisonment could be a good choice.