Universities should accept equal members of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today there is a heated debate on whether universities should encourage an equal share of both genders in multifarious studies or not. I partially agree with this statement and I will elucidate arguments to prove my opinion. To begin with, a quota system for university enrolment would definitely provide ample opportunities for both males and females. The long-term result of such a decision would be a trend, where an approximately equal number of both genders would be in multifarious branches, such as engineering, nursing, programming and so on. Such a trend will also help to deal with gender stereotypes, as the number of successful males and females in various sectors will strive for an equal quantity. On the other hand, such change will affect the merit system of universities, as the school will, first of all, try to fill the quotas of students, and only then compare the honours and achievements of students. Secondly, reaching the same percentage of both genders in different studies is almost impossible due to the fact that some subjects are prevalent among males, while others amidst females. For example, many male students tend to choose engineering degrees, which means that the competition among males is relatively higher compared to the one among females. The equal number of positions will destroy the balance because it would be much easier to enrol as a female student. In conclusion, the notion of an equal number of men and women in university groups could help to deal with stereotypes, but it also could lead to unfair university enrolment.