Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

In the present, many countries depend on tourism. In those countries tourism plays an important role as a main income source. Tourism brings many advantages to the country. But there are some disadvantages as well. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of tourism. First of all, tourism is the main income source of many countries around the world. There are many benefits of tourism on the countries. It raises the economy of the country. It brings foreign currency to the country. There are many countries like Maldives, Hawaii, they are totally depending on tourism. The government also gets necessary funds to carry out large projects likes hotels, shopping malls. Tourism helps to develop facilities – roads, public places, air ports, transportation and many more. Secondly it creates thousands and thousands of jobs in many areas. Specially in hospitality field. These jobs are not only part of the tourism, they are part of the whole nation. The other important benefit is it helps to create unity among people from different countries. In contrast there are some negatives of tourism as well. The major problem is environmental pollution. Thousands of tourists may visit famous destinations. This leads to environmental pollution. Secondly the damage done to the local culture. Many countries face clash between different cultures and hence damage the communities. Tourism industry has some negative sides, but it does not outweigh the positive impact on the economy of the country. I believe that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.