Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Many youngsters work on a volunteer basis, and this can truly be conducive for both the community and themself; however, from my perspective, I disagree with the viewpoint that all teenagers should be forced to do unpaid work in their leisure time. One evident reason that supports my idea is that students are already stressed and tired enough during their school time; therefore they should be allowed to rest and enjoy their leisure time in lieu of being asked to do unpaid work. Forcing students to do such work might further enhance their burden and even lead to a reduction in their academic performance. Another problem is that inefficient work can be anticipated. To exemplify, It can be easily envisaged that people who are compelled to do work against their will are liable to end up inefficiently; moreover, this action can even exacerbate the relationship between the teenagers and the local community, eventually reaching the outcome that goes against the initial expectation. People who stand on the opposite side might contend that teenagers can cultivate a sense of responsibility through work on a volunteer basis. This can be sensible in some aspects; however, except for being forced to do unpaid work, there are still other gateways for the young to attain the same effect. For example, it is also an act of responsibility for some teenagers who manage their own time to do part- time jobs to support their tuition or personal expenses and ameliorate their families' economical condition. In conclusion, I disagree with the view that young people should be required to do unpaid work as many drawbacks can be anticipated. Meaning volunteer work would be conducive for both sides only if it is not against any individual’s will.