Individual greed and selfishness have been the basis of modern society. Some people think that we must return to the older and more traditional values of respect for the family and the local community in order to create a better world to live in, To what extend do you agree or disagree?

With the development of this modern society, people become indifferent and only care about themselves. It has been controversial that if putting individual benefits in the first place affects the world positively. From my perspective, people still need to cooperate with each other for making progress in the world and being selfish can jeopardize our lives. First of all, if everyone takes their own benefits priority over anything else, it will lead to fights and even wars. Also, with globalization, anyone’s behaviour could make negative effects all over the world. For instance, Russia’s invasion of Ukraine was caused by personal advantage. Obviously, Putin wants to take over Ukraine and gain political benefits regardless of others’ human rights. The outbreak of the war not only made innocent civilians sacrifice but also influenced on global economy and peace. Furthermore, if every individual ignores others’ need and only focus on their personal requirements and is reluctant to give favour to others, there will be a lot of chaos. However, getting closer to our families or societies can be advantageous. For example, when the residences collapsed due to the earthquake and tsunami in Japan, the Taiwanese donated a massive amount of money for their reconstruction which was a return for their support for the Taiwanese 921 earthquake. In conclusion, individual greed and selfishness make people more distant and not willing to help each other, which not only damages our lives but also makes the world worse. Therefore, it is significant to get closer to the family and the communities.