Damage to the environment is an inevitable consequence of the improvement in the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

In the current era, the improvement in life quality is causing considerable damage to the earth. Some people claim that this consequence is inevitable but I personally disagree and this essay will discuss in the following paragraphs why I envision that we could find a balance between developing the standards of living and preserving nature. Firstly, it is commonly thought that improving living conditions means using individual cars instead of public transport, which, unfortunately, causes more pollution and consequently damages our environment. On a personal level, I think that raising the standards of living could be achieved without harming the planet. By using common ways of transportation, such as the metro or the subway, we help decrease the number of pollutants in the atmosphere. For instance, countries that are well-known for the quality of air, including Sweden, motivate their citizens by offering fast and practical public transport. Thus, we can lower the damage made to the environment while improving the standards of living. Secondly, there are other solutions to achieve a balance between the condition of life and the condition of nature, such as incorporating green spaces in big cities in order to minimize the levels of pollution. By planting more trees and creating parks, the population will have more spaces to practice sports and kids will be able to play and have fun, indirectly improving the overall health of citizens while also providing benefits to the planet. An example to illustrate that would be my native city, Casablanca, where new green areas were added throughout the years in many areas of the city and this change impacted positively the mental and physical health of citizens and the level of pollution dropped significantly. To summarize, I personally think that we can improve the quality of living while preserving the environment as well by acting altogether and opting for public transport and creating more green spaces, therefore preserving our "Mother-earth", our forever home.