It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

Nowadays, there’s a debate among many folks regarding the use of materialistic things such as motor vehicles and home appliances. This essay will answer the question that whether the demerits of the same are outweighed by the merits. To begin with, the foremost concern of using such consumeristic things is the adverse effect caused to the environment. The usage of electronic items is highly detrimental to nature as they are indisposable and also somehow contribute to global warming. Additionally, frequent use of motor vehicles has a significant contribution to air pollution. According to recent research conducted in India, 70% of the population is dependent on fossil fuels, apparently affecting the environment. Apart from that, it also causes deleterious health issues as these electronic items emit inimical radiation which causes several diseases in humans. For instance, highly relying on screens has harmful effects on the eye. On the other hand, there are several reasons which outweigh the drawbacks of such advancement in technology. Firstly, this evolution has made our life easy and productive. People can save a lot of time by using such electronic gadgets and can also enhance the quality of outputs. For instance, the invention of automobiles has significantly affected the lives of many people by solving transportation problems, especially in the case of working people. Secondly, the development of electronic appliances has made our life handy and faster especially as far as home appliances are concerned. In particular, with a single,touch we can easily automate various tasks at home. Finally, recycling such products can solve the issue of pollution. In conclusion, though there are various drawbacks of such products they can be easily outweighed by the advantages being provided making our life convenient.