in schools and universities, some girls tend to choose arts subjects, while boys choose to studyscience subjects. What are the reasons? Do you think this trend should be changed?

Higher education provides various majors and subjects for every student to pursue. It is often discussed that the majority of boys rather choose to study science while girls prefer to study arts. I believe there are multiple reasons for this phenomenon that will be demonstrated in this essay below. Parents or families who live with a conservative mind where they tend to label their children based on gender might be the case in this situation. This mindset might be lingering inside their kids' thoughts while they are considering their major. For instance, my grandparents were not giving my mother a chance to pursue her dreams as a neurologist, they encouraged my uncle instead. Despite that, boys and girls usually have their own significant tools or toys that they have already known since they were born. Those usual activities could create a hobby and a routine, so that becomes an important aspect for them to choose their next journey. For example, I was born in a neighbourhood where almost all the residents work as tailors, which led me to take my major in fashion design. As a result, I personally believe that there is nothing to be changed in this case if the reasons that girls dominantly study in the arts while boys in the scientific field are because of their interests and aptitude only. Their provision since they were a child could be the start for them to reach their ambitions. On the other hand, if the case continuously happens because of the stereotype regarding both genders, then the best way to reduce it is to advocate for them to choose a wide range of education. For instance, there is one retarded school in which most of the female students are believing that they are only suitable for the social science path, later the regional community advocated for them that in order to choose their major, none of the reasons matters, besides their ability and interests. To conclude, family and environment can be classified as factors in the decision-making for a student to choose their next path. Not only will support their studies but the deep interest and skills of both genders would support their studies.