Should parents be obliged to immune their children against common childhood diseases? or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? What is your view of this practice?

The issue of childhood immunisation has gained lot of attention in the last few years with increaing voices advocating against it. The question of whether or not parents should be able to choose to vaccinate their children or whether it should be made compulsory is a complex one. This essay, will argue that desipite the importance of individual choice, immunisation should be forced for the greater benefit of society. Firstly, positive effects of vaccination can be seen in all countries where it has made compulsory. It is because of mandatory vaccination that in the countries such as, England, Australia and the United States diseases like polio, small pox have been eradicated completely. If parents were able to have a choice not to vaccinate their children, these societies would be still afflicted by these diseases. So, in the long run, immunising children saves lives because it control spread of preventable diseases protects the population. Despite the above, some people argue that it is unfair to vaccinate children because they are not old enough to make the choice by themselves and is therefore an infringment on their human rights. However it is the role of parents to make decisions related to their children's health. Most vaccines must be administered in childhood before it is too late. Once the desease takes hold and spread, it could lead to epidemic in society which could lead to global or notional disaster. Therefore parents must be obliged to vaccinate their children. Although I believe, people should have free will or choice, when it comes to the issue of immunising children, evidence has shown it is the best way to prevent spread of diseases and save lives. Ultimately, enforcing immunisation is greater overall desision for humanity.