More and more parents are allowing their children to play on computers and tablets as they think that children should learn technology skills. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology is becoming a significant part of modern society, many parents let children use electronic devices, therefore their children improve their technical ability. I believe there are more drawbacks than benefits of long screen-time for children. I would acknowledge that the internet can help a child become an independent learner. For example, children can easily find certain information they are looking for and deepen their curiosity and interest. In addition, a number of educational videos and images from a phone or a laptop could hold children's attention longer than textbooks. Another merit of using these devices is an improvement of their social skills. Because most individuals including children have their accounts on social media platforms, there are more chances to practise their communication and social-emotional skills. These skills are essential for youngsters to be successful in the future. On the other hand, using these gadgets excessively has a negative impact on children's health and development. To illustrate, there is plenty of evidence that shows more than an hour of screen-time affects children's brain development, weight and sleep. Moreover, as children lack self-control, they can easily fall into addiction, and this can lead to isolation and depression. In conclusion, although some parents believe that using these electronic tools will benefit children for their learning, in my view, there are more disadvantages of giving children unlimited screen-time for their children than its beneficial sides. Furthermore, these activities can cause serious damage to children's mental and physical health.