Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many people think that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, must practice their knowledge in the same country where they trained, while others believe otherwise. In my opinion, practitioners should have the freedom to choose which country where they want to work in, as there would be better work opportunities awaiting them. On one hand, if doctors and engineers work in the country where they trained, they can directly implement contextualized science that they learned in their training. By applying knowledge that is specifically tailored to the characteristics of the country, they can then produce better outputs overall. For example, due to the high frequency of epidemics, doctors who undergo their training in Indonesia would have better knowledge of the management of tropical and infectious diseases, causing them to be better prepared if they practice in Indonesia. However, I think this can be mitigated easily by requiring foreign doctors or engineers to spend some time adjusting their expertise according to the country they are about to work in before they start working. On the other hand, doctors and engineers can have better career opportunities when they are allowed to work outside the country where they did their training. Take the computer engineering field for example. They would thrive if they get the chance to work at the biggest tech companies in the world, such as Samsung in South Korea or Apple in the United States, as the experience and the effect it has on their careers surely would be priceless. Moreover, they could also implement all the knowledge they gained back in their home country afterwards. To conclude, professionals will reap many benefits from working in foreign countries, such as better career opportunities and the chance to implement all the knowledge and experiences back in their homeland. Therefore, I personally think that they should be free to work outside the country where they trained.