More and more people are suffering from health problems caused by a modern life style which cannot be treated with modern medicines. Some people think that a return to traditional medicines should be encouraged. To what extent do you agree?

It is an alarming situation in the world that health problems are on the rise. This is predominantly due to the modern and busy lifestyles most people are involved in unlike people back in the day. Furthermore, it is a question whether western medicines could be invented and tested at this rate. My opinion, while I believe that modern medicine could solve health problems, I agree that the traditional method should be encouraged. This essay will elaborate on the advantages and disadvantages of switching back to traditional medicine. On the one hand, it has been proven that the side effects of traditional medicine are significantly low or less to nothing. This is due to the natural ingredients such as herbs, spices and roots and substances of plants used to develop these kinds of medicines. Research has proven that western medicine taken for depression and anxiety has a high number of side effects. Secondly, native medicine is not as expensive in comparison to western medicine and this could be one reason why it is not valued too. Since it is not manufactured and advertised by large multinationals the united cost is low. Therefore, people should spend less to purchase this type of medicine. Moreover, Unlike, doctors the professionals who study native medicine follow a different approach. This is where the knowledge and know-how are passed down by generations. This could be also one reason traditional medicine is not very expensive. However, on the other hand, western medicine is a perfect fit for the modern generation. This is because it is a quick fix to the problem. Unlike traditional medicine which involves a long time to cure. In conclusion, I believe that traditional medicine should be given more emphasis due to the fact that it has low side effects and is inexpensive. However, for sudden illnesses such as heart attacks, western medicine could be a fast remedy. A balance of these will be helpful to have a healthy population in the country.