Today many countries import food from different parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, it is run of the mill for nations to consume sustenances originated from different parts of the world. While some might praise this strategy, there are others who would cast doubt on its efficiency. The essay below will shed light on both sides and give reasons for my conclusion that the cons outweigh the bros. On the one hand, utilizing outer sources of food would be efficacious in reinforcing the food security of a nation. To explain this, the importation of food is tantamount to less consumption of national food, helping maximize the amount of food the government can set aside for unexpected situations in which food demand abruptly skyrockets. In other words, importation gives concrete assurances of fewer chances of famine or food deprivation, which consequently prevent untoward atrocities for the competition of food supply. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, the worldwide trade had to be stopped to prevent cantation incantation from overseas and countries could only satisfy the nutritional needs of their people by previously saved domestic sources of food before receiving aid afterwards. After all, it is the food security of countries that would be ensured thanks to the integration of outer sources into the national market. On the other hand, imported food would create some detrimental impacts on the agriculture situation of a nation by intensifying the competition of the food race. The availability of exotic sustenances is likely to result in the fragmented consumption of local products as buyers have more choices. Consequently, in order to compete, farmers and retailers might put on an overly low price for their products, leading to the incapability of the national agriculture to make any profit or developments. What is more, the transportation of imported goods is also beset with a fair share of health-related problems. During this process, it is unfeasible to control and prevent the deterioration of nutritional values of food due to evaporation. Not only the use of conservative chemicals is extortionate, but it also calls into question the safety and freshness of foreign food. All in all, food importation may put countries at a disadvantage by overburdening the local business as well as jeopardizing consumers with added substances if surpassing the permissible amount. In conclusion, international food trade is evidently a negative development due to the damages it brings upon countries both in terms of agriculture development and the well-being of the community. Therefore, governments should limit their national food export in the near future with a view to optimizing the benefits and sidestepping the pitfalls.