Some people think watching TV is bad for children, while others think that watching TV has more beneficial effects on children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, most children spend their productive day in front of the TV set. Some believe that watching TV is an added advantage in terms of child development whereas some oppose the idea stating that it has many detrimental effects in long term. In my opinion, I believe watching TV is rather beneficial if used effectively. Therefore, I do not see any negative impact in spending time watching it. This essay would discuss both views and provide examples for each argument. Firstly, spending too much hours in front of the television is time -consuming this will end up in children not completing their studies on time. Further, watching TV for a longer period of time has serious damage to your health such as poor vision and poor cognitive development, therefore, less screen time would be helpful especially for young viewers in order to protect them from the harmful effect. UK scientists have identified that 80% of children suffer from thinking and cognitive disorders as a result of spending too much time in front of the screen. Secondly, there are many arguments which contradict the above stating that television itself is an information library where children can gain more knowledge and develop their language skills by watching it. For instance, for young viewers "Peppa Pig and Blippy" are some of the favourites and meaningful channels which significantly does a great impact in terms of developing children's knowledge and skills. In conclusion, even though watching television has some detrimental effects it is paramount important for a child to gather vast knowledge in terms of developing perspective.