Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this modern era, owning a smartphone is very popular,especially among youngsters. Even though these cell phones provide tons of features, which are helpful in day-to-day life, at the same time, too much involvement of phones in an adolescent life can have various disadvantages in their development. Modern cellular phones provide numerous features that can be incorporated into many activities of a teenager's life. On one hand, modern handsets are a very efficient way to communicate with anyone around the world as it is possible to use the cellular connection in these phones at any time. Also, using a good-quality screen cellphone students can watch their study-related video content as well as for entertainment purposes. At the same time, parents also use mobile phones to keep their children's attention diverted while feeding them. For instance, my cousin is only 7 years old and he refuses to study without a mobile phone. While watching study content on the phone he just switches between gaming apps and in this way he is hampering his studies. So, the situation has become very critical now. Even if, updated gadgets are a very effective way of studying at the same time, they are creating a bad practice of wasting time and ignoring their studies. Playing games regularly or watching entertainment content on these devices builds up a form of addiction in children's minds and this is serious damage to their future. It affects them both physically and mentally. Radiations from electronic devices lead to eye problems, headaches and various health issues. However, as the addiction grows they waste their precious time and become less productive. Moreover, they lose their potential and this may start disappointing their parents. However, this becomes an obstacle to developing their people skills as they are always busy on phone and avoid communicating with others. In conclusion, even though smartphones are a great invention of modern science, they can be a threat to kids' development which may eventually result in disastrous academic results in future.So, in my opinion, the usage of smartphones should be monitored by parents since childhood so that children do not get a chance to be overly dependent on these devices.