More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than being face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

In this fast-moving world, folks are relying on technology more than ever. This can be seen in the way that individuals communicate with each other these days, either personally or professionally. Trends have changed from being inhuman for discussions to online chatting or phone calls. While this offer belongs various benefits and drawbacks which are worth considering. Firstly, there are two major merits of talking via messaging or calls. The first positive point is for business professionals, it saves moments. Going up to a person always takes a period and sometimes it also requires warming up the conversation, which leads to a discussion and hence, takes up a lot of time. However, sending a message via any instant message service provider or taking a call via skype saves time and useless discussions can be avoided. Furthermore, this stands true for personal conversations as well. Talking on the phone or messages is easier and protects duration rather than face-to-face. For example, the discomfort of leaving your personal space can be avoided by dropping a message or by calling the person. On the other hand, a common solution is that always communicating via technology has various drawbacks as well. To start with, there is a higher risk of miscommunication via messaging as the public can misread the emotions behind the text. This can lead to bitterness in business or personal relations. Another remedy is that an individual can lose the confidence of speaking in front of people, which affects the individual’s personality and eventually leads to mental stress. In other words, it affects the health of the person. In conclusion, communicating via technology has both benefits and drawbacks, be it personal or professional. On one side, a lot of time can be saved by having precise conversations, while on the other, the risk of miscommunication is higher along with the effects on mental health.