As languages such as English, Spansih and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Many minority languages may die out because of the major languages such as English, Spanish or Mandarin which have been famous and most widely spoken. Measure by many countries has been adopted to help save the minor languages from getting extinct. I would discuss this in brief further with support and example of my own past experience. Firstly, it is true that major outspoken languages like English, Spanish and Mandarin have been very much adopted mainly due to the economical growth and huge business of the respective country. In addition to that, the above-mentioned languages have been so common in many countries that the native and local languages have been ignored. For example, in India, Hindi is the most spoken language which is also the country's local language. My son who is 6 years old has never adopted our native Hindi language instead he speaks only English as most of the animation videos or most famous cartoon characters are broadcasted in English. Hence, we are forced to speak with him in English and my parents are unable to communicate with their grandchildren as they only know the regional language. This indeed is a threat to our language and culture. Secondly, these major languages have started wiping out the regional music industry in a wider manner. Today we hear many regional songs mixed with English sentences which is a trend in the western region. For example, many rap singers in India mixed Hindi sentences with English and copy the style of western rappers. In addition to that Korean series have become so famous that in our country most watch with English subtitles by avoiding Hindi series which are far better than them. However, in India, the Ministry of cultural activities has taken remedial measures by encouraging regional languages and imposing mandate rules of speaking regional languages in government offices, schools and hospitals which will surely add an advantage. Finally, even it is essential to know the major language. It is also equally important to respect our regional language which defines the culture and eases communication locally. Governments in some countries have taken measures as stated above to overcome the disappearance of the minor language from respective countries.