Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed, that the environment can only be improved by governments and large companies, while individuals find it impossible to contribute. In this essay I will argue about the power each and every world citizen holds when it comes to the environment protection, since, in my opinion, even the smallest creature can make a difference, the only problem is what must be sacrificed on this path. On the one hand, it is always easier for an individual to put a blame on the ones “above”, for instance, government or company, rather than face the responsibility and finally take some actions in the ongoing war against air/water/soil pollutions, even if it means to sacrifice most of conveniences, that humans have always enjoyed and strived for. As the saying goes, if you want to change the world, start from yourself, therefore, it is necessary for individuals to start with little steps, such as wastes recycling or usage of fabric shopping bags instead of plastic ones, to decrease negative impact on our planet. We may never know what is around the corner, but what we do know is that there will be no outcome, neither good nor bad, if no action is taken. On the other hand, the impact of a government/ company ecology protection actions and an ordinary citizen are non-comparable, as it is quite evident official facilities have more power and influence abilities. While governments are in charge of taking serious legal measures to solve local environment issues, large companies, on the basis of resources they hold, shall serve as a polar star and navigate people on the way to free-from-suffering earth, by means of financial and influential support. In conclusion, while individuals can definitely make their own contribution, the higher effectiveness of governments and companies’ actions is undoubtful. However, passionate individuals supported by legal entities can make our world a better place even more efficiently.