In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As technology is developing more frequently, more and more people are reading e-books and newspapers online for free. Some experts believe that no one is going to buy printed books or newspapers in the future. I totally agree with it. This essay will provide specific examples and illustrate why reading online is better than printed ones. Apart from not having to pay, there are many advantages to reading on the internet. First of all, we can reduce global warming by chopping down fewer trees. For example, according to BBC news in 2019, it was predicted that by using e-books to replace paper, the air in the atmosphere would be 20 per cent cleaner over a five-year period. Another survey conducted by Harvard University students discovered that most readers only read newspapers once; thus, online reading can also help to recycle. Additionally, it is convenient to read online as everyone has a phone nowadays, and by releasing novels online can become a more popular way for writers to be in the public eye. On the other hand, reading on screens releases blue rays, which are harmful to the eyes; moreover, it can cause short-sightedness and eye diseases. Furthermore, there is a good saying, "No pain, no gain." We should not get anything for free; writers and reporters are playing a significant role in education. Nevertheless, these problems are not really important. Writers can still get paid by posting their writings on websites, and the short-sightedness can be reduced by keeping a distance from digital devices. Overall, I truly agree that printed paper and books are going to disappear in the future, as the online platform is more beneficial to everyone.