Some people say that computers can translate languages well, so children do not need to study foreign languages anymore. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The increasing advances in technology have brought convenience to human beings, including language translation. It is claimed that foreign languages should not be included in primary school curricula because computers can translate languages at a fast speed and with high accuracy. I completely disagree with this claim. On the one hand, it is shown that translation by computers may sound awkward since the machine may not understand the conversation context. For example, when a Chinese person wants to express 'unwind' in English when talking with friends, the translation application may recommend you use the word 'decompressed', which is too formal in that circumstance. Some people might say that it could be improved with technological advances, but in my opinion, it is undeniable that these improper mistakes will still exist in the short term. On the other hand, even though computers could perform better in the future, I still believe that children need to study other languages by themselves. Firstly, being exposed to foreign languages could help children better understand other cultures. For instance, students who learn English would know the funny fact that London rain often, because people tend to open a topic by saying ‘how's the weather today?’. Such cultural facts are useful, and can reduce their efforts when they make international friends or travel abroad. In addition, learning foreign languages from childhood could expand children's horizons and improve creative thinking skills, since they can see a bigger world from different cultural perspectives. In conclusion, I disagree with the claim that translation by computers is good enough and children could stop studying foreign languages with the help of technological translation. In my view, parents and schools should try their best to provide an environment with cultural diversity for children, which would definitely benefit them in a long term.