Some people think that climate change could have a negative effect on business. Other people think that climate change could create more business opportunities. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of whether the global climate will have an adverse effect on the business entity has generated mixed views in recent years. Some people argue that variation in weather conditions might cause irreversible damage to enterprises and lead international commerce to a vicious circle, while others contend that we can seek potential opportunities in those changeable climate phenomena. In my opinion, the prospects far outweigh the negative impacts in this case as organizations can seize the chance to upgrade their products and develop emerging industries. Variation in weather conditions can certainly be harmful to the operation of a company or an industry. For instance, climate change such as the greenhouse effect might accelerate global warming which could lead to poor harvest in agriculture; desertification requires local entities to rely more on seawater desalination facilities than groundwater at the expense of a rise in the cost of production; extreme weathers and natural disasters induce emergency shutdown in factories and department stores, thus bringing extra expenditure to a company. All of these scenarios pose a threat to our trades and result in a sluggish economy. However, we should not omit the bright sides of an ever-changing climate, as this is an instrument of business change. In terms of merchandises research and development, companies will focus on new demands related to climate conditions. For example, a shortage in water will facilitate the development of water purification systems in houses and offices. Online sales are more likely to dominate the retailing industry and become mainstream, as this will avoid any form of extreme weather that might be encountered in mortar stores to the utmost, meanwhile companies ensure a decrease in the cost of production. In summary, while the business world might suffer from the drawbacks of natural disasters, I firmly believe that every trade entity can find an enduring solution to climate change and make improvements from it.