Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Although the number of doctors is rising and modern medicine has been very successful in treating different kinds of diseases, still many people would prefer to use more traditional forms of treatment. The following paragraphs will analyze this phenomenon while contributing my opinion. (43) On the one hand, there are various diseases in the world and they all have their specific symptoms. However, in some, cases these symptoms might be similar and in order to get the proper diagnosis, the patient needs to be examined by a doctor and in some, cases he or she may need specific medication. For example, during the most recent days of the Covid-19 pandemic many mistook the symptoms of this virus (Like a high fever and consistent cough) with the signs of the flue and instead of getting checked by the doctor and getting suitable medicine, they stuck to more traditional cures that had been helpful before (like drinking warm tea or brewing powders made out of several herbs). while in some cases these traditional treatments helped in many they didn't. On the other hand, there have been many studies done which indicate that the overconsumption of chemical drugs is not without its problems. For instance, there have been many cases reported in the US when a doctor prescribed unnecessary amounts of pain medication or anxiety pills which can be very addictive if not careful. Consequently, it seems very reasonable for people to hesitate when it comes to consuming these sorts of drugs and giving more traditional and natural treatments a whirl. To sum up, the power of using more natural and traditional treatments has been proven to be helpful in many ways, but it is an undeniable fact that modern medicine has played an important role in our well-being and health prospects.