Should governments spend so much money on space exploration when there are problems on Earth that need to be solved? Give your opinion

In the past few years, authorities are squandering large amounts of funds on space travel. However, there are various other issues in the world that are required to be looked upon. I completely disagree with such lavishness as in my opinion, the first priority of any nation should be its population and their needs. To commence with, the primary reason for opposing such waste of money is that there are certain requirements of residents such as education and employment that are to be fulfiled to foster the productivity of the country. Children these days are not able to avail adequate education due to the inappropriate functioning of schools and colleges. Moreover, adults are facing the problem of unemployment due to the lack of jobs in the nation. Additionally, people are not able to acquire proper learnings of using space equipment which acts as a drawback for space exploration. Such troubles affect the growth of the country. For instance, records suggest that around 59% of the educated masses are jobless. Hence, it is evident that employment is one of the major issues that are to be addressed for the progress of the nation. Another cause that supports the argument is the shortage of significant resources such as food and water. The population is incapable of getting sufficient diet since there is mismanagement in the delivery of eatables. Also, the tax paid by the citizens for water does not reach the government. As a consequence, the majority of regions suffer from scarcity of water. The reason is corruption by government employees. To exemplify, according to reports, every year, more than 40% of taxpayers die of starvation. Thus, the life of residents is far more important than space travel. To conclude, although knowledge about the universe is necessary to compete with other developed nations, it is extremely important for the government to overpower the problems encountered by the citizens. Therefore, it is clear that necessary steps are needed to be taken for the development of the country and to make the Earth a better place to live.