Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what etent do you agree or disagree? what measures do you think might be effective?

Recently, there has been widespread concern about the changes in the ecological system. While some agree that the problems of high traffic and disruption of the ecosystem will be solved if the price of fuel increases, others dispute this claim. In my opinion, I firmly agree that increasing the petrol prices will assist in the reduction of air pollution and road congestion. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. To start with, increasing the rate of fuel will divert people from using personal cars to public means of transportation. Evidently, other means of transit like railways will be adopted which will help reduce the tension on the highways. The use of bicycles and strollers to move from one area to another will definitely reduce pollution since these methods of transport did not require the burning of fossil fuels. For example, a recent study reveals that there is an 80% reduction in pollution since the American government compulsory it for all citizens to adopt public transport and increased the pay for petrol and diesel. Therefore, this demonstrates that if the rate of petrochemicals is inflated, it will bring a positive effect on the ecosystem and traffic. Furthermore, there will be a positive impact on congestion and pollution control if the petrol price is inflated because fewer people will purchase personal cars. Obviously, the high number of people using automobile affect our ecology. This leads to heavy traffic on highways thereby emitting pollutants in high volume. For instance, about ten years ago those that have personal vehicles did not use them due to scarcity of fuel and the high rate of price. This drastically reduces congestion on roads, also pollution was reduced. Hence, this indicates that if the price of petrol increases, it will reduce the level of pollution and traffic significantly. In conclusion, I assert that traffic congestion and the release of pollutants will reduce if there is an increase in the amount of fuel. This is because people will use more public transportation, and there will be a reduction in the volume of people using cars.