Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

In light of technology growth and aviation developments in various countries, including developed and developing countries, traveling has never been easier. Nevertheless, individuals have divided opinions about the tourism industry and its pluses and drawbacks; however, after weighing both sides, I believe that, overall, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It has been a long-held belief that since we have new people in towns as visitors, there would be an intense use of resources; accordingly, the more resources are used, the more waste, pollution, and emissions there will be, which can cause severe damage to the environment. Another disadvantage of tourism is unequal infrastructure growth in particular cities, which can cause further problems like persuading citizens of less-developed towns to migrate to those developed cities due to the ongoing presence of tourists and developed infrastructure. This phenomenon can exacerbate the problem of overpopulation in cities of interest. Finally, severe use of resources and unequal growth of cities ' infrastructure are two primary disadvantages. Having stated the disadvantages, we should not neglect the advantages of the tourism industry, nor should we underestimate its significant contributions. Tourism is widely believed to boost the revenue of the economy of countries; as a result, this may help people have an easier life since they do not have to keep up with inflation and unsecured monetary status. Another plus of tourism is that it may plant a sense of cultural exchange between foreigners and citizens, providing locals with diverse points of view, which can help them to think more openly. It, therefore, assists citizens in embracing cultural, language, and ethnic diversity, if any. Hence, we can take economic growth and cultural exchange as benefits of the tourism industry. To conclude, although I mentioned the severe use of resources and its adverse effects on the environment, and unequal infrastructure growth as disadvantages of tourism, I believe that the advantages of the phenomenon, namely economic development and cultural exchange, outweigh the drawbacks.