Some people spend a lot of money attending cultural or sports events. Is it a good or a bad thing?

There are folks, who generously spends on recreational events. However, excess of everything is bad even if it is on some personal or public events. Though attending recreational and supports events is a good activity to stress out and to see your favorite game/ culture. If we look at the larger scale, cultural or sports events have many positive impacts on the economy and outlook of any country, e.g image building, boost in economy, job creations, increase in foreign remittances and infrastructure development etc, As we see countries take pride in hosting the mega events like Olympics, Asian Games, Cricket/ Foot Ball World Cup or similar events. As I witnessed in Qatar, there have been lot of improvements after they got hosting of FIFA World Cup 2022. Now a days life is tough everywhere and in this hustle bustle of life people usually can’t give enough time to their families but going to such events can strengthen bonding with their loved ones. But at the same time, by spending so much on such events can drain your savings. Spending on such event is luxury, if one has extra money then such events look good to go. Instead of doing something good for the society or poor, one is spending to show/ pretend, high place in the society. For example, I saw one of the most luxurious weddings of two business tycoon of the Lahore. Master Tiles and Jalalsons wedding which is considered as the most expensive wedding of the city, by such spending, you are creating sense of inferiority among the people who are already finding it hard to make their ends meet. In conclusion, spending extravagantly, so much on such events is not virtuous at all but spending moderately is good and beneficial.