Large companies should pay higher salaries to CEOs and executives compared to other workers.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is commonly discussed whether corporations are supposed to assign higher compensations to top managers in comparison to other employees. This essay disagrees that workers holding high positions are entitled to disproportionately larger earnings. Firstly, this essay will discuss that obtaining a higher place in a corporate hierarchy doesn ' t necessarily require wider competence. Secondly, it will be analyzed that large wage gaps might affect lower-level workers ' motivation significantly. To begin with, it's important to mention that salaries are supposed to reflect a worker's knowledge, experience and competence, while in many cases it doesn ' t correlate with a person's position in a company. While many people strongly believe that in order to obtain high managing position you have to be an extraordinary professional, in,reality career advancements are rather associated with soft skills like networking and self-promoting. According to the survey conducted by Harvard Business Review, 73% of respondents who were heads of departments in various companies confirmed that they would rather promote a candidate who is considered more "likeable" than the more experienced one who doesn ' t possess the same soft skill set. Therefore, assigning several times larger salaries based on obtained position and not performance is hypocritical. Additionally, if inequality within a company is cultivated by underpaying average workers and overpaying people who obtain top management positions, it tends to cause higher dissatisfaction levels among staff and leads to a loss of motivation, productivity and retention. If an employee doesn ' t see a transparent relationship between their competence, performance and income, they might lose any motivation to enhance their skills and put significant effort to work. It became quite evident in the case of Amazon, where the company faced high staff turnover rates since they tend to pay lower-level employees minimum wages, while the owner of the company is the richest man in the world.  In conclusion, this essay supports the idea that employees ' salary range shouldn' t be defined solely by their position in the company, since higher-level employees are not necessarily the more competent ones, and, moreover, large differences in incomes might lead to loss in productivity among the company's workers.