Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Whereas many areas of society argue that world news ought to be taught at a primary school level, others say that such subjects would equal wasted hours of education. I strongly believe that other assignments should be prioritised in order to secure better future prospects. Interestingly enough, keeping updated with what is happening around the world, further enhances kids' minds and interests. For instance, students that learn about international news, develop an increasing interest in world history and culture, which entices them to travel and interact with foreign citizens. Consequently, these individuals end up having gap years after school to discover new cultures in countries they had heard of. However, many drawbacks are caused by these decisions, as many kids never return to higher studies and thus, end up with no professions or work skills. On the other hand, focusing on future prospects and professional careers is what for many others should be firstly addressed. Owing to growingly tough economies, pupils should primarily focus on subjects that contribute to their careers, instead of wasting their time on information of lesser importance. Take teenage graduates, for example, who often finish school without any certainty on what educational path to follow, due to assignments that did nothing to contribute to this life-changing decision. Conversely, those who attend more useful classes that aim at higher education, can commence university right after high school because they found exactly what their personal calling was. To conclude, the conversation about whether pupils should be taught international news or not is a common one among individuals in today's world. In my honest opinion, teachers must decide on better lessons to instil in their students. That is, targetted knowledge that will prove fundamental to the next generation's future opportunities.