The US film industry has too much influence on the film industry around the world. Governments have a duty to invest money in their own film industries to protect and develop their cultures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often debated that the American film industry is playing too much of a vital role in the global field and that other countries should also participate in promoting their own form of entertainment by showcasing different cultures as well as traditions to the world. I strongly agree with this statement for the reasons outlined below. Firstly, a side that has never been shown to the world before about a certain nation could be put forward to the public. This would not only boost interest towards a country but also can be employed as a technique to increase tourism rates. For example, in 2019 studies conducted in South Korea, a recent underdog nation that popped up in the glowing entertainment business, proved that tourism percentages shot through the roof while observing a 346% increase compared to the previous decade. Another vital advantage of diversifying the film industry is that new facts about cultures could be understood through the click of a button. In addition, new languages could also be learnt through tv shows, movies, documentaries, etc. For instance, it was revealed that the leader of the famous band "BTS", Kim Namjoon, learnt the English language just by watching the show "Friends" during his childhood. To put it into perspective, he is quite fluent in the language at present and can almost be compared to a native English speaker. In conclusion, the effect that the entertainment industry can have on the general public is immense, the sky is the limit. Hence, due to reasons such as promoting cultures and picking up new languages, the advantages easily outweigh the drawbacks in making the scope of films more universal.