All over the world societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem effects both children and adults. What are the reason for this rise in obesity. How could it be tackled?

In the past few years, there has been a spike in the variety of foods available in the market and their consumption as well as a result many countries are faced with increased obesity rates for children and adults both and are in a constant state of worry. A number of reasons contribute to this problem but the lack of knowledge about nutrition and portion control among consumers remains on the top as parents are feeding their kids high quantities of unhealthy junk foods which are full of carbohydrates and fat with little to no protein and other mineral contents as a result children are gaining more weight and becoming obese which further leads to many health-related problems. For example, a cousin of mine has been obese since the age of 7 as my aunt was working and could not pay attention to her eating habits and currently she still struggles with binge eating problems. Moreover, adults themselves sometimes do not consume a balanced diet due to lack of time or even laziness. As lack of awareness about the nutritional value of healthy food and the negative effects of fast food which is designed to lure people are the main causes of the obesity epidemic, conducting free classes and seminars for the grown-ups along with teaching the future generations about the goodness of vegetables and fruits through mandatory cooking classes in schools can help to prevent obesity. Another thing that can be done to tackle this is encouraging an active lifestyle among citizens and organizing marathons to engage people and help them be in shape. A perfect example of this is me, I have always been a skinny child and adult because I did a lot of swimming and trained for basketball tournaments in school and my mother did not allow me to eat junk. Therefore, making time to better our relationship with food and our own bodies is the key to solving this issue. To conclude, this epidemic might be hard to battle but it is not impossible to win. A few subtle changes in our daily lives can have a big impact in the long run and lead us to a better and healthier future.