Nowadays many people have access to computers and a large number of children enjoy playing video games. What are the advantages and disadvantages of playing video games for children?

Today technological progress allows us to get access to computers without any limitations. It is also relevant for children, more and more of them play computer games. As usual, there are pluses and minuses in this situation, and both of them will be reviewed in the scope of this essay. Talking of advantages, the first one is that virtual worlds are a great hobby. Basically, it is similar to books and movies. Teenagers have an opportunity to play them, discuss them on forums, and create their own additional content, which is a lot of fun. For example, there is a game that is called Minecraft. It is so popular, that it has its own conference. Secondly, playing games is quite a challenging task. As a result, teens are solving complicated quests, finding tricky solutions and making tough decisions. For instance, there are games that include an enormous amount of logical exercises. As for the downsides, first, it is dangerous for little children to play a lot. Actually, it affects their development and, eventually, there may experience some problems with concentration. Those who look at displays a lot of time have a hard time focusing on even elementary tasks. As an example, there might be some problems with reading and listening to others. Secondly, if the young do not leave their homes and spend a lot of time in isolation going through their favourite simulators, they would have problems with socializing. Sometimes boys and girls are too shy to speak with their classmates, which is also dangerous for their future. For instance, it might cause some difficulties in schools and universities. In conclusion, games, like actions, strategies and other simulators, are great hobbies and motivators to resolve interesting puzzles. But on the flip side, we need to be careful not to let kids spend too much time in front of screens because it can spoil their future development.