Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a public debate on whether middle schools should have a subject about global news, while some people argue about it. Recently, many big issues have happened all around the world. Especially, the ongoing war between Ukraine and Russia is very sad news for everyone. I personally believe that students need to learn about what is going on outside of their countries during school time. This essay discusses the advantages and disadvantages of creating such a subject at secondary schools and my opinion will be provided. I opine that international news classes are essential for the following reason. Learning about the topic associated with other countries leads students to expanding their perspectives. To illustrate, an international school in Tokyo where students come from various countries originally have a unique class in which kids take one topic and discuss it from a a cultural and regional point of view. As a result, students can get different ways of thinking and one of the graduates becomes the CEO of the biggest IT company. Exposure to contemporary affairs from a young age makes them become global citizens who are needed to think of things from a variety of perspectives. On the other hand, it has a negative aspect as well. A potential disadvantage of this subject is that overseas affairs sometimes contain strong political and religious aspects. Education for kids is supposed to be away from politics and religion because they might affect who they are. For example, children in Iran, where they are taught to be soldiers at school, believe what is taught, therefore they are fighting as a soldier without any doubt. Hence, global news including such things might affect who they are. In conclusion, I believe that the advantages of learning about international news as one of the subjects outweigh the drawbacks that it might bring. I suggest that secondary schools should set such a subject in a curriculum in order to make students exposed to various issues in the world, however, educators need to be careful about the negative aspect.