Some people buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?

These days, many parents buy a lot of toys for their children. In my opinion, having a lot of toys certainly keeps children occupied and saves them from boredom. However, if they have too many toys, they will keep asking for more and may fail to appreciate the value of money. First of all, it is believed that educational toys enhance children ’s ability to think. With creative board games or card games, kids can develop their motor skills and memory. This will be very useful as they grow up. One clear example of this is a little girl from Texas who appeared on a kid’s popular talk show to present her vocabulary. Many were stunned to see that card games inspired her and her father to make flash cards to develop her ability to learn. Besides skill development, Parents can enjoy spending quality time with their children by playing games with them. These games make parents feel connected to their children while children feel safe in the company of their parents. In other words, playing new games together can be highly advantageous for both parents and children alike, as they both can benefit by building a strong connection with each other. On the flip side, some parents use toys as a compensation for their absence from children’s lives. These parents use toys to keep their children busy instead of prioritizing spending time with them. Furthermore, most of these toys are indoor toys such as video games or play stations. Kids eventually fail to appreciate the value of money used to buy these toys. They seek comfort in these games instead of a friend or a parent. They start preferring solitude and thus become introverts. Since they do not need to share toys, they lack strong friendships. Consequently, the principal demerit of playing alone with a large number of toys is that these children grow up to be self-centered, undisciplined and socially awkward. In conclusion, buying many toys has its benefits or drawbacks based on how parents motivate children to use them. If parents play with their children themselves it is a tool to bond with each other. However, if it is substitute for affection, it is a hinderance for a strong parent- child relationship.