The best way to solve the world's enviromental prolem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In recent years, a growing number of people are concerned about the severe environmental situation and some argue that increasing the price of fuel is the best measure to solve this problem. However, I disagree with this view. Granted, the high price of fuel may to some extent tackle this problem since it might help decrease the usage of private cars. When facing more heavy burden of fuel price, many people are more likely to choose the public transport, such as bus, subway or even sharing bike, instead of their private vehicles. This means that the amount of carbon emission will drop significantly, which can protect the environment effectively. However, by taking this kind of action, we cannot ignore negative effects it has brought. Once the price of fuel increases beyond people's expectation, one's quality of life will be damaged damatically. Many factories that produce essential living materials such vegetable, fruit, and meat highly rely on fuel and raw resources to generate energy. Furthermore, long transportation, which carry all kinds of products from one palce to another, also need fuel. The high price of fuel means the cost of making and deliverring these items will soar, too. Eventually, normal customers definitely will pay for that. In addition, other effective ways should be taken into consideration to protect the environment. Firstly, clean energy such as wind power, electricity, and solar power should be encouraged to use widely since these have fewer adverse impacts on the environment. Secondly, it is necessary to educate the public to raise the eco-friendly awareness. In people's daily, stopping dropping rublish publish casually and saving every drop water can really make a difference to protect our planet. In conclusion, while increasing the price of fuel may be a good choice to protect environment, people will damage their quality of life by doing that and we have more effective measures such as using clean energy and raising our awareness to achieve this goal.