Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

Nowadays historical locations attract more tourists than local inhabitants. This problem happens due to some reasons, and several measures could be proposed to enhance the number of indigenous people visiting these places. To begin with, there are some reasons why the main visitors of museums and historical sites are tourists from other areas instead of the regional ones. The first reason is that local communities often lack interest in these historical locations due to the familiarity with their traditional costumes and history. As a result, these individuals will spend time visiting places that they have ever been to so that they can have a better understanding of these destinations. Additionally, another possible cause could be the shortage of activities organized to attract residents such as competition about local history or field trips to museums. However, the local people’s low attendance at these destinations can be handled by some remedies. One of the feasible solutions would be for the government to stimulate appealing recreational events in these places. This can be done by showing documentaries about ancient events or holding quiz shows about history on a regular basis. Moreover, schools should make students’ field trips to historical sites compulsory as a part of extracurricular activities. Consequently, students can have more time exploring their historical values and then share these with family members. In conclusion, the lack of entertainment events held and local people’s interest in historical destinations lead to the lower rate of residents visiting such places. In order to solve the problem, the government needs to organize more activities there, and student’s visits to museums should be mandatory.