Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

While some individuals argue that it is entertaining and educationally beneficial to play video games, others claim that the detrimental impacts on players are more significant. Although I agree that some video games can provide children with harmless entertainment and educational purposes to a certain extent, I firmly hold that the benefits pale compared to the drawbacks. On the one hand, it is undeniable that playing video games is pleasing and educative. To begin with, resorting to virtual worlds provides users with the excitement of being a hero or winner without having the risk of being injured. As a result, players can relax, and their mental health will be improved, resulting in higher work or study productivity. In addition, some video games would equip players with critical thinking and problem-solving skills while giving them a sense of encouragement. Take Dragonbox Algebra for an example; users, especially students, will be motivated to solve math problems required in their daily study. Had it not been for this educational application in the form of entertainment, students would not have been incentivized to enhance their academic performance. However, I believe the advantages mentioned above are at the expense of more significant drawbacks. Firstly, due to the accumulated achievements, new targets are constantly given to players to arouse their desire to win. Therefore, many people, especially children, spend hours playing video games daily, which significantly contributes to some health problems such as obesity or myopia. Secondly, by devoting hours to playing video games, players sacrifice their physical health and academic performance. The research conducted by Oxford University has indicated a strong correlation between game addicts and their poor academic achievement owing to severe insomnia after many hours of playing games and low concentration. In conclusion, even though some video games can trigger players ’ enthusiasm and encourage them to study, I believe they are outweighed by more significant disadvantages, including health degeneration and poor academic performance.