some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. others think that the true function of university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. what, in your opinion, should be the main function of the university.

In modern society where everything is money centred the role of higher education is being constantly questioned. Some people argue that universities should aim to equip their graduates with certain skills that will enable them to get hired and at the same time make them more competent employees. On the other hand many disagree with that and believe that their purpose is to provide them with the necessary knowledge for the subject they chose to study. There are many reasons that some support the idea that higher learning should focus on giving students skills needed in the workplace. Firstly, our society has become extremely competitive and finding a job is becoming harder and harder so many people choose to attend a university in order to gain some qualifications that will give them an advantage over other job applicants. So it obvious for some that schools should keep that in mind and help their graduates long term. Secondly, employers and various companies support some educational centres with scholarships or donations and in turn require from those to allow them to influence their courses so that future graduates be more competent employees. On the contrary, many people believe that universities should keep their role as educational institutes and focus on providing their students with pure knowledge. In other words the purpose of higher education should be the creation of scientists and experts in various fields not just skilful workers. In conclusion, the role of universities is a much-debated subject with some arguing that they should aim in providing essential skills for getting and keeping a job while others think that education is about gaining knowledge. In my point of,view higher education should focus on making better scientists.