Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A number of young juveniles tend to use their smartphones for long hours per day. In my opinion, this is due to the inadequacy of opportunity to play and roam outside of their own confined residents and the uprising concerns about their physical safety. Additionally, I would like to argue that such a lifestyle may have lifelong chronic adverse consequences in the future. This essay contains arguments championing such opinions. First of all, with the current growing population in the major cities and urban areas, the availability of free spaces, for example, parks and playgrounds, for residents to relax are dwindling gradually. Consequently, most of the children in these regions do not have the places essential for social gatherings and physical sports, hence confining themselves to gadgets consisting of various features such as social sites to create and maintain friends, online games for entertainment and so on. In the meantime, road safety and social security in modern cities are not sufficiently convincing currently. As a result, parents show high reluctance to allow the next generations to roam outside in the streets. With regard to the causes, using smartphones may come out as a silent killer in the near future. Although it won’t just “kill” people as the poison does, rather it will bring complicated issues related to health and psychology that can be detrimental. For instance, staring at the bright LED screen of phones continuously can damage eyesight slowly and gradually; besides, other mental difficulties such as depression and frustration can also arise. Studies showed that two-thirds of total suicides by teenagers in South Asian countries have connections to depression induced by addictions to social media. In conclusion, the arguments aforementioned give proper reasoning and framework to support my stance on the negativity of overusing smartphones.