It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

As we come into the new millennium, there is an ongoing trend among the young generations that they tend to eschew science-based subjects in favour of other social majors. In my opinion, the limiting future opportunities and highly demanding requirements of science fields are the roots of such a phenomenon and I hold a view that society would suffer from various significant downsides. On the one hand, myriad factors are to blame for the shortage of science learners. To commence with, most science-related subjects like biological technology or computer science usually require students to not only get far accurate outcomes but also rigorously check their work since one inadvertent mistake could result in tremendous repercussions. In other words, learners are usually forced to work long hours even to midnight or at the weekends in order to fulfil a combination of constant assignments and countless times of conducting experiments, which are the cornerstone of most hypotheses. Thus, they could be dragged into burn-out contexts and shoulder a great psychological burden, as well as some serious physical and mental illnesses such as fatigue, depression or even stroke. Another key consideration is that students usually have to isolate themselves to put all concentration on their research, which may deprive them of getting access to up-to-date news coverage or fueling family bonds. On the other hand, this phenomenon also triggers loads of problematic aspects. First and foremost, as the number of scientific learners is on the wane compared to other crucial majors such as finance, art or pedagogy, there would be a lack of future workforces, which may prevent human beings from pursuing better living conditions as well as technological advancement. Specifically, this phenomenon would lessen a variety of technological breakthroughs and inventions, whereby, in some urgent cases like the Covid-19 pandemic, if there were not any specialists finding out defensive methods, both human beings and the surrounding environment may be completely destroyed in worst-case scenarios. Another noteworthy mention is that due to the accelerated proliferation of graduates from less stressful fields, there may be a risk of employment crisis and raising the opportunities for nefarious deeds. In conclusion, I personally believe that the tough requirements of scientific subjects are some major culprits begetting a host of undesirable impacts on society.