Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem?

There are several factors influencing the diminishing number of certain species around the world. I am certain that human behaviour is one of the major reasons and there have been many suggested solutions to address this problem. Animal extinction has been reported in many parts of the world. Rhinos and other turtle species are only some of the animals that can never be seen by future generations. Currently, the list of endemic creatures is adding up, and this is widely brought about by various human activities. Extension of human settlement and industrialization are among the significant factors affecting the quantity of animals. For instance, in the Philippines, the extinction of the Philippines Eagle was largely caused by deforestation in search of residential areas and land cultivation for food. The forest that used to serve as a sanctuary for these enormous birds was destroyed and their ecosystem was altered resulting in survival challenges. Aside from that, people hunting animals for food, entertainment and experiments are not regulated well by the government. Nowadays, there are still cases of illegal hunting and selling of elephant tusks in the market because of their high cost. In addition, many establishments such as zoos and SeaWorld contain orcas for entertainment shows and capital gains. The government and other stakeholders should emphasize the regulations protecting endangered species. One strategic measure is to conserve wild areas that are home to precious creatures. Industrialization is beneficial but it should be redirected to areas with minimal wildlife damage. Another is creating tougher punishment against illegal hunters and sellers of any parts of endangered animals. Furthermore, more funds should be allocated to educate people about the importance of balance in the ecosystem. If people only knew that an imbalanced natural system has consequences for environmental health then perhaps they would think twice before cutting trees and ravaging the seas. In conclusion, there are several solutions to mitigate animal extinction but if people will continue to be careless, the decline or loss of many species will be inevitable.